Student-Athletes Present the Inaugural Owlspys

Photo Gallery

April 13, 2015
BOCA RATON, Fla. - Florida Atlantic University's Student Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) presented the inaugural FAU Owlspys Awards in the University Theatre within the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters at FAU's Boca Raton campus.

The night was highlighted by 15 awards including the "Student-Athlete of the Year" awards. The female honor was bestowed to Bianca Biglione, a sophomore on the women's tennis team who is studying biological sciences. Biglione holds a 13-2 record and will lead the Owls this week as they travel to Houston, Texas for the 2015 Conference USA Championships. While winning on the court, Biglione has volunteered with the Boca Raton Police Athletic League, Ounce of Prevention Fund of Florida and Palm Beach schools.

The male "Student-Athlete of the Year" honor was awarded to junior first baseman Brett Lashley. The communication major is a starting member of the nationally ranked baseball team, which sits atop the C-USA standings. Lashley has volunteered with Boca Raton Little League and the Hydrocephalus Association. He also works with the FAU athletic media relations office as a segment host on the weekly "Coaches Show." On the field, Lashley has played in every game with 35 starts, holds a .294 batting average, three extra base hits and the best fielding percentage among everyday starters.

The female "Athlete of the Year" honor was awarded to Agnes Bucz. Bucz represented FAU at the NCAA national meet in the 50, 100 and 200 free style events. In February, she took first place and broke her previous school records in the 100 and 200 free and was part of the 400 and 800 free relay teams that broke the school records at the conference meet with times of 3:22.97 and 7:14.70, respectively. In 2014-15, Bucz captured 25 first place finishes, 10 second place finishes and five third place finishes. She set lifetime bests in the 100 free, 200 free, 500 free, 50 back and 100 IM.

The male "Athlete of the Year" honor was awarded to senior linebacker Andrae Kirk, the unquestionable leader of the 2015 football team. Kirk earned the team's coveted MVP honor, leading the team in tackles and ending his four-year FAU career first in all-time career tackle assists and second in total tackles. At season's end, he was named to the Conference USA first team.

Other honorees Include:
All-Freshmen Women's Team Members: Sarah Eakin (volleyball); Haley Gordon (cheer); Malia Kency (basketball); Kiley Kuether (swimming and diving); Emily Lochten (softball); Jessica McMillan (golf); Janae Nebal (dance); Brittany Pellitteri (sand volleyball); Maddie Pung (soccer); Frida Thorsas (track); and Liz Wellman (cross country).

All-Freshmen Men's Team Members: Reggie Bain (football); Ray Ellis (football); Alexander Gitin (tennis); Justin Massey (basketball); Ryan Miller (baseball); and Petter Riedel (soccer).
· Coach of the Year -- John McCormack (baseball)
· Sportsmanship Award -- Katarina Stepanovic (volleyball) and Sean Bacha (men's tennis)
· Best Performance Award -- Ali Gorrell (women's basketball)
· Student Athlete Choice Award -- Ronald Garcia (men's soccer)
· Funniest Action Shot -- The cheer team
· Outstanding Academic Achievement -- Claire Emslie (women's soccer) and Matthieu Burtez (men's swimming)
· Community Service Award -- Rachel Crino (women's swimming); Adrian Sterling and women's basketball (team award)
· Owlstanding Spirit Award -- Carnesha Thompson (softball) and Javier Lacunza (men's basketball)
· Owl Cup Presentation -- sand volleyball team

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned